Quiet Moments

“Then, completely out of the blue, someone very special to me decided to surprise me by purchasing me my very own canon AE-1 film camera,” Amanda Lee, a third-year student, shares her love of film. Below are her stills and beautiful writing from behind the scenes of Circosis Left Brain. 

Since my schooling days I have always been fascinated with film and the collaboration of film with dance. After studying media, I found myself dipping my toes in the pool of creating dance film, but I never really completely immersed myself. This was due to a lack of time, a lack of funds, and the slow process of finding my own artistic style. Very recently I decided to dig up my media knowledge from the back of my brain and experiment with it again.

 

19250541_10208402812978288_7939532594973787160_o
Luke Thomas deep in thought

 

I believe that circus is an incredibly powerful art form which can translate beautifully to film. I have never really used photography as a skill before, yet I constantly find myself being inspired by photographers and visual artists who use photography in their work. I found myself becoming addicted to looking at photography cameras online, yet I kept forgetting, I am just a little arts student with very shallow pockets.

 

19237911_10208402810338222_985273611577682088_o
Jessie Mckibbon getting show ready

 

Then, completely out of the blue, someone very special to me decided to surprise me by purchasing me my very own Canon AE-1 film camera. I felt like a child on Christmas morning. The most exciting thing about this surprise is that it happened the day before NICA’s third year showcase opening night. This meant that I was able to go and take some beautiful photos of an incredibly special time for the people I like to call my crazy circus family.

 

19983631_10208587022743417_2942420889457251382_o
Jack Wild with just a touch of glitter

 

A photo lasts forever, and I find that film really captures the essence of a moment. I am so glad that I have jumped into the pool of exploring different mediums of art, and I can’t wait to see where it takes me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

